I reserve the right to thank you for your business | Ashburn, VA photographer

Last night, I stopped by the dry cleaners in my new home town of Ashburn, VA (we moved here from Arlington in November).  I’m still getting to know the town and figuring out where to go for things like dentist appointments and swim lessons for the kids.

Mark and I are serial dry cleaners.  We easily spend $150 a month on dry cleaning, and it’s not unheard of for me to take 15 sweaters, several pairs of pants, a skirt and a dress in on one visit.  Last night was such a night.  The woman at the counter was counting out the pieces and my two children were loudly (and obnoxiously) playing hide and seek in the small lobby area where there’s only one place to hide (the dressing room) when I noticed a sign tacked up by the register.  It read, “We reserve the right to refuse service to anyone for any reason.”  Huh, I thought.  Is that even legal?  I mean, could you say, “I’m not cleaning your clothes because you need a hair cut,” or “you cheer for the Redskins”?  Next thought was, what would be a legitimate reason for refusing service at a dry cleaners?  It’s not like a bar where the patrons come in drunk, right?

And right about then, I started feeling uncomfortable.  I thought, I wonder if she’s going to deny me service because my crazy kids are running around her 50-square foot lobby playing a ridiculous game of un-hide-able and seek. Maybe I shouldn’t have asked for my clothes to be done on Saturday instead of Monday?  What if they don’t want me to come back?

My next thought was, I don’t want to go back to a place that doesn’t want me to come back!  So I decided I’m not going back…  not because I really think they would ever throw me and my sillies out of the store, but because I want to go to a place that wants my business and treats me well (instead of sneering at my request to have my clothes clean two days after I drop them off and posting threats up on their walls).

What I’m really saying is that I want all of you lovelies to know that I LOVE LOVE LOVE my clients!  I have fun working with every one of you, and I hope that comes across in all of our conversations and exchanges.  Thanks so much for allowing me to make a living doing what I love to do!

Here’s a recent pic of my funny ducks.

Chase and Clara snuggled up at the lake in November.

BTW, if you need an excellent dry cleaners in Arlington, VA, I highly recommend the one on Glebe Rd. at the intersection of Rt. 50.  30% off every Tuesday, in by 10, out by 5, and gracious smiles from everyone who works there.  They took great care of us for 8 years, and I never thought I’d actually miss a dry cleaners.  If you have recommendations for a good dry cleaners in Ashburn, maybe one that picks up and delivers, please let me know!  Thanks!

P.S.  Lots of client work lined up to share, too.  Hang tight!!  New post likely on Tuesday or Wednesday next week.

2 thoughts on “I reserve the right to thank you for your business | Ashburn, VA photographer

  1. I need a new dry cleaners too. The one I was going to stapled the dry cleaning tag onto my shirt’s tag and the staple wasn’t closed all the way so it snagged holes in my shirt behind the tag area. Needless to say, my brand new (and very cool, and irreplaceable) shirt was ruined. When I took it back in the owner said that there was no way it happened there even though you could see exactly what happened. Let’s just say it got a little heated and I’ll never go back. A good dry cleaner is sooo hard to find. I should open one. Anyways, as you can tell I’m still miffed about it. And I still have my holey shirt hanging in my closet b/c I loved it so much I can bear to throw it away 😦

    • Ugh! Sounds awful. 😦 I would totally keep the sweater and not wear it, too… somehow hoping it would magically fix itself. 😉

Leave a Reply

