Waiting for a Girl Like You

I had the unique opportunity last month to photograph the labor of one of the women who had signed up to be one of the models for my maternity model search in April.  I cannot describe how exciting it was!  I did not get to witness the actual delivery – she arrived a full 24 hours after I took these photos, but she did arrive healthy and beautiful (to a very tired mama)!

This was such an amazing experience for me, and I’m thrilled to be able to share these with you, too!

The reason that Andrea’s birth took much longer than it would have normally is that her baby was turned face up, toward her belly, instead of face down. She was having terrible back labor pain.

She preferred the warm bath to help ease the pain of the contractions.

Her husband was so doting.  It was touching to watch how his eyes showed both his pride and concern.  He was so excited!

Just before I was about to leave for the day, they decided to try to turn the baby.  I cannot recall what this method is called, but basically they took a large cloth and brought it up under her belly while she was on all fours with her hips wide apart.  The midwife’s assistant then held both ends in her hands and began rocking her belly with small even tugs, with every 4th tug a bit stronger on one side.

After about 10 minutes of this, Andrea said she felt the baby turn.  They helped her sit up and checked the heartbeat, which had moved to the other side!  Success!

We were all so happy!  What a rush!

I’m so thankful to Andrea and Andrew for allowing me to photograph part of this momentous journey for them.

From Andrea, “Thank you for these pictures- they’re fantastic! I just wish Livy was in them! Olivia Ann was born at 4:36pm on Friday, April 20th. She was bigger than we all expected- 8 lbs 13oz and 21 3/4 in long. She latched on almost immediately and has been eating well since! She is super healthy.”  Isn’t that one of the best happy endings ever!?  I love it!

4 thoughts on “Waiting for a Girl Like You

  1. Becky – these are absolutely beautiful. I felt like I could feel the mama’s pain and the daddy’s excitement. You are SO wonderful at capturing just the right moments. I am proud to call you friend! Love, Whit

  2. I’m crying! These are amazing! My favorite is the second to last where he is comforting his wife by holding her hands and also gives that sense of prayer. (I’m not sure if that’s what he is doing so I didn’t want to say that he is but it just looks like he is and at such a proper moment!) I just LOVE it!

    • I know what you mean! There were several times that I got tears in my eyes. It was just such an exciting and special thing to witness.

Leave a Reply

