Mammas, Don’t Let Your Babies Grow Up To Be Cowboys

Man, being a parent is hard!!!  There’s so much worrying, and doubting, and frustration, and trying not to laugh when they’re being so bad, but so darn cute.  My mom always used to say, “You’ll know what it’s like some day when you grow up and have your own babies!”  And you know what?  She was right.  You may love your mom, but you never really know her love, and the extent of that love until you become a parent yourself.

So here’s to my mom… for cleaning the poop off the walls (literally), teaching me the facts of life (I’m so dreading this), driving me to rehearsals and doctors appointments, crying when they were putting me under to have my wisdom teeth taken out (yes, I remember!).  For teaching me about God, love and self-respect.  For loving me even when I made decisions she didn’t agree with, and for hugging and consoling me when I realized what bad decisions they were, instead of lecturing me.  I love you, mom!!  There’s one less potential cowboy (ahem, cowgirl) in the world due to you!  😉

I had the amazing privilege of photographing six incredibly beautiful expectant moms last month, and in honor of Mother’s Day this weekend, I wanted to share them with you, too!

My first model was Tammy, who also brought her precious little boy to the session.  I love these photos of the two of them together!  And here are some other gorgeous photos of her by herself.

My next model was Jamie.  I love her bright smile and freckles!  (Many of my favorite people have freckles!)

Up next was Karen.  Karen could be having her baby while you’re reading this!  She was 38 weeks when I photographed her and was still waiting as of Tuesday this week!  Good luck, Karen!

Oh yes, she brought heels!  You go, girl!  Karen also brought her husband, Mark, with her…

This Lynda Carter look-alike was my next model.  I mean, could you find a more perfect blue for her to wear!?  The lovely Kate!

My next model was Annie.  I am so jealous of her long, beautiful hair!

One more!  Last, but not least, were Sarah and Jason.  They were so fun!  Isn’t Sarah’s smile so infectious?

I hope you love them as much as I do!  Many of these, and a few others, are now posted to the new maternity portfolio gallery on my website.

I’d like to thank my gorgeous models and also NOVA Natural Birth Center who hosted us. In addition to photographing these lovely mamas, I was also able to photograph the labor of one of my would-be models who went into labor the night before!  I’ll be sharing some of those photos next week! 🙂

3 thoughts on “Mammas, Don’t Let Your Babies Grow Up To Be Cowboys

    • Thank you, Kris! I totally agree… well, except for the part about wanting to have another baby. LOL! 🙂

Leave a Reply

