It's the Most Wonderful Time of the Year

My daughter is obsessed with Barbie.  How this came to be is a longish story, so I’ll save it for another day, but because she is obsessed with Barbie, when I learned that Target was selling the new Barbie Perfect Christmas movie and giving a free “Chelsea” doll with it, I couldn’t resist.

It’s super cute, and the songs are very catchy (we’ve watched it now an easy dozen times). And, it has the Christmas-y themes of love, giving and family.

We were lucky to get away to Lake Anna last week with my two sisters, their families, and our mom and dad.  It was wonderful!  I had a lot of photos to work on (so grateful for all of my photo sessions this year!), but I still made time to spend with everyone (we completed four puzzles!), and of course, get some shopping done… actually, all of my shopping done!.

We always do a coordinated photo shoot when we get together, but I can’t share  those because my mom and sisters would kill me (they’re using them on their Christmas cards).  However, here are some candids from the week, as well as the super cute shoot of the 6 cousins in their coordinated PJ’s from CWD Kids.

That was our view for 8 days!

There was a LOT of coloring to be done.

The kids were able to spend a lot of QT with daddy/Uncle Mark, which was priceless.  Here are some more:

This was the first year I was able to taste a fried turkey, since they FINALLY took pity on the peanut-allergy sufferers and switched to regular oil.  It was so yum!  We had 4 turkeys for 8 adults!

Frying turkeys is hard work.

Apparently, they had to keep yelling at the kids to stop throwing rocks in the water all afternoon.  This is much harder than it sounds (they say).

This is what was left over after we had all eaten!  Three days of leftovers ahead.  Sweet!

We went for walks in the evenings to try to burn some of those extra calories (this did not seem to help me since my pants are much tighter now!)

Then, there was the incident with the boot.  Connor’s boot slipped off his foot as he was sitting on the dock watching everyone fish.  He freaked!  Started screaming that the sharks and fish were going to eat his boot, which had very quickly filled with water and sunk to the muddy bottom of the murky water.  The guys decided it was their mission to rescue the boot…

The ladies look on as Brian tries to fish out the boot.

Success!  Though, those sharks in Lake Anna were sadly robbed of another rubber boot.

My husband will hate me for this next one.  He again lost the bet for the Tech/UVA game and had to take a photo “to be displayed prominently” of himself wearing (my sister’s) Tech gear.  How’s the World Wide Web for prominence?  He’s a good sport!

But here’s what you’ve been waiting for!  Cutie pies in matching pj’s!  Enjoy!

I hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving, too!  I’m getting so excited for Christmas as I watch all of my packages arrive. As Barbie’s friend would sing, “…Love is what we’ve got, smile on every face, and presents all over the place.  We get to give em awayyyyyy, give em awayyyy…. Hey Hey, every day, we just wanna give em away.”  (shoot, now that song will be stuck in my head all afternoon.)

Leave a Reply

