You've Got a Friend in Me

There’s nothing like coming home to a wet, sloppy kiss.  I’m talking about my dog, of course!  She’s a 9.5lb Tibetan Spaniel named Treble (homophone intended).  She’s getting old, but she still has a lot of spunk.

I got her 12 years ago, when she was only 2 months old, and I had just finished my first year of teaching.  She’s been with me through so much – four different apartments and our current home, various roommates, and two little children who love to torment and tease, hug and pet her.  She tolerates it all with class and with unfailing affection to me, my husband and all of my former roommates.  So this post is a tribute to her and all of those other four-legged creatures that bring a smile to our faces everyday.

When I have photo shoots at people’s homes, I am always sure to take some portraits of the family pets as well.  It’s very much like photographing children for me because their innocence and abundant personalities are so fun to capture.  Here are just a few of the ones that I love.

That’s Bogart, the beagle.  Love his name.  He is so cute!  Below is Hunter, who appears to rule his domain.

It’s amazing how many of their expressions mimic our own.  Sometimes, I feel like I know what they’re thinking by the look in their eyes.  Take Jackson, for example…

He can say so much by saying nothing at all!  Here’s another one who has a lot to say.  This was just a split second expression, but Sadie seems to be showing how she feels about the new baby of the house…
That one actually makes me giggle.  It’s like she’s saying “Is this for real?”

I just love this Weimaraner photo because of how her fur color matches the leaves around her, which contrast so nicely against the green grass.

I’ve had the pleasure of photographing two different boxers recently.  Don’t just just want to grab their cheeks and squeeze?!  🙂 

Ah, but we mustn’t leave out our other friends, too!  Here are a couple kitties that caught my eye.  I saved this one for last because it totally cracks me up.  The horror!

Poor little Jack is looking very uncomfortable, and for good reason judging by his cat’s expression!  Don’t worry, no babies or animals were harmed in the making of this photo.  We did have a good laugh about it, though!

I’m in NYC tonight, but I can’t wait to return home to Treble’s excited tail-wagging that is sure to greet me tomorrow evening.  It wouldn’t be home without her!

3 thoughts on “You've Got a Friend in Me

  1. You’ve doing a great job! Really super quality photos, real photography!

    I loved that gentle, family-like tone of the pictures. The pets are gorgeous but they look totally unique in this photos.

    My favourite one is with the dog and the family with a newborn. That’s just outstanding! One would doubt that such moments can be real.

    Thanks for the great post!

Leave a Reply

