Don't Know Much About History (Wonderful World)

My son started Kindergarten yesterday.  He was so brave.  He walked right up to that school bus ready to take on the world, and I think that may have been what made me start crying.  I was glad I held it together that long, that he didn’t have to see my tears flowing… and flow they did.

Here he is stepping up to the bus, and with his sister:

I’m not going to kid myself that this is the beginning of his learning years.  He has been soaking up everything he can from the day he was born, and I imagine he will his entire life.

When I look back to the day he was born, I think about how much I have learned in the past five years.  Here, you can have a look back, too:

This photo signifies not only the beginning of my learning how to be a mom, but also is really one of the main reasons that I got into photography.  Still, after five years of classes, seminars and workshops, I love, love, love this photo.  This is the photo that made me want to take those classes, seminars and workshops.  I can stare at this photo for minutes at a time.  This is what prompted me to learn more about photography, what makes a good photo and how I can make more of them.  It’s not technically perfect, but it pours emotion and sings to me like none other.

I asked my photographer friends if they had any photos they had taken that kick-started their learning of photography.  Susan Fowler of Fowler Photo in Yorktown, VA sent in the below photo with her description:

“For me, this is one of the photos that ‘started it all.’  I’d loved photography for years, but didn’t know the technical side of anything.  The first thing I started to learn about informally was setting up a shot.  Looking through my old photos it was quite interesting to remember how I’d worked to set up and frame each shot, yet they look like I just snapped them while walking by! What really sparked my learning in this photograph was that I loved it– except it wasn’t sharp.  And I didn’t like the odd coloring.  I tried editing it with some wimpy software and finally realized that the more I edited it, the worse it looked… I needed to figure out how to make it look good coming out of the camera!  That’s what led to learning the technical side of photography– and all that comes with it!”

That’s a perfect example, Susan!  It’s so true that we learn best when we want to learn.

Here I was on my first day of Kindergarten (third from the left)…

I still remember how excited I was.  I would finally get to learn everything that my older sister had (especially the songs… I couldn’t wait for music class)!  I hope I never lose that desire to learn, and I hope that I instill the same in my own children.

So what has inspired you to learn lately?

One thought on “Don't Know Much About History (Wonderful World)

  1. Pingback: Summer Breeze | Lyrical Photography

Leave a Reply

