I'm Every Woman

My husband is away on work travel again. Sometimes it seems like he’s always either coming or going, though, in reality, his job is only about 20% travel. Still, I dread his work trips like you wouldn’t believe because if anything is going to go wrong, it will inevitably go wrong when he’s out of town. Usually, I can time it to the second his plane lifts off the ground.

I am not kidding here! It’s run the whole gamut from car accidents to basement flooding to my daughter having febrile seizures. The last time he went away, our AC broke during the DC heatwave.   I call him my good luck charm because when he goes away, chaos ensues.

So I’ve been moping around the past three days.   Work is as busy as ever, my kids have been testing my patience, and I’ve been on edge waiting for the other shoe to drop.

I almost titled this blog “All by Myself,” that sappy, mopey song about feeling alone, but yesterday, I was sitting in traffic on my way to work and was feeling really down, and after thinking it over, I was like, what the heck is my problem???  I have a wonderful husband who will be home in a couple days, and I’m an intelligent woman who can, and have proven that I can, handle any everyday and genuine crises that comes my way.   I decided to stop feeling sorry for myself.  There are so many other women out there who are up against larger obstacles than I am facing and are really thriving.

I reached out to my photographer friends and asked them if they had any photos they would like to share of military wives or single moms whom they have photographed.  I mean, I get upset when my husband is going to be gone for four days… I cannot imagine months and months without my good luck charm!

The following photos are by Ashley Glasco, who is a natural-light portrait and wedding photographer in my home town of Mechanicsville, VA (go Raiders!). The Super Mom in the above portrait raised her first child for the entire first year of her life while her husband was deployed.  I get tears in my eyes thinking about all of the struggles of that first year she must have endured and the simple joys of seeing her daughter grow that she wasn’t able to experience with her husband.

Above is the father with their second little girl.  Can you imagine how difficult it must have been for him to be separated from his family the first time around, and how wonderful he must feel now to hold his new baby!?

Here’s one more of the whole family together!

I’m so grateful to Ashley for sharing these photos with me!  I am completely awed by military families and single parents, and these photos will serve as an important reminder to me of how we can all rise to the challenges before us.

If you would like to see more of Ashley’s work, please visit her website, facebook page, and blog.

3 thoughts on “I'm Every Woman

  1. It is amazing how you have written down all the thoughts that I’ve had in my head! Sometimes it’s hard to not feel sorry for yourself in a bad moment/day. I’ve found that thinking of those amazing single parents (military or otherwise) brings me back to my very blessed reality quickly. I recently found out that one of the men lost in the helicopter crash was the father of one of Joseph’s soccer teammates. He leaves behind a wonderful sweet wife, 2 cute blond boys and I think they have another little one on the way. It’s nice that you have shown this amazing family in your blog, great job!

  2. Funny to read this post – I am in the middle of a challenging week of single mom-hood complete with earthquake, work stress, construction on the house during awesome rainstorms and a husband who is supposed to fly back the day we anticipate a hurricane. It’s all a matter of perspective, isn’t it? Thank you for this healthy dose of it.

  3. Judit, I hope he gets home safely! I heard most airlines are allowing people to switch flights for free. Hang in there!

Leave a Reply

